PITTSBURGH - The Pittcon 2011 Program Committee has announced the recipients of 10 awards honoring scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy. The awards, to be presented during a symposium at Pittcon 2011, will recognize scientists from diverse disciplines including bioanalytical science, biomedical science, chromatography, electrochemistry, mass spectrometry, nanotechnology, separations science and vibrational spectroscopy.

Among those being recognized are the original founders of Thermo Electron, George Hatsopoulos, John Hatsopoulos and Arvin Smith. They will receive the Pittcon Heritage Award, which recognizes outstanding individuals whose entrepreneurial careers have shaped the instrumentation community, inspired achievement, promoted public understanding of the modern instrumentation sciences and highlighted the role of analytical chemistry in world economies.

Pittcon 2011 will take place March 13-18, 2011, at the Georgia World Congress Center (GWCC), Atlanta, GA.