BETHESDA, MD – The Adhesive and Sealant Council (ASC) saw a record number of 579 attendees participate in its Fall Convention and Expo, held October 21-23 in Minneapolis. The event featured 45 business sessions, a 70-company expo and several networking-oriented opportunities. Matthew E. Croson, President of ASC, reported that the expo has grown by 33 percent in the past three years and that the association’s educational platform has expanded to include new tracks dedicated to advanced technology. In addition to the convention and expo, 130 attendees participated in the Hot Melt Short Course.

This year’s Fall Expo was expanded by 30 minutes to offer more time for attendees and exhibitors to connect. The expo is a fast-paced 3.5-hour event that draws all of the attendees and supply chain together for a focused conversation about innovation.

ASC also offered two new events for participants during the convention:  the inaugural Speed Networking Lunch and a new Membership Lunch.

The Speed Networking lunch was sold out with 56 participants. At the lunch, suppliers sat next to manufacturers and were able to meet each other.  During the course of the hour-long lunch, manufacturers changed seats twice, following each course, allowing attendees to secure six new contacts within a short timeframe.

The council also added a Membership Lunch where Chairman Rusty Thompson, President of Evans Adhesive Corp., and Matt Croson outlined new initiatives, updated the attendees on the council’s Long Range Plan effort and reported the council’s finances.

The Membership Lunch was also an opportunity to recognize ASC’s Past Chairs who are now part of the ASC Chairman’s Circle. The following leaders attended the event and were presented with a unique “ASC Past Chair” pin that identifies their role within the council’s history:  Robert Johnson, Choice Adhesives, Chair 1997-1998; Les Burch, Sashco, Chair 1999-2000; Dave Jackson, Apollo Systems, 2001-2002; Larry Owen, Franklin International, 2003-2004; Dave Burger, Edge Adhesives, 2007-2008; Jim Owens, HB Fuller, 2009-2010; and Glenn Frommer, ADCO Products, 2011-2012.