LAKEWOOD RANCH, FL – The Chemical Coaters Association International Finishing Education Foundation (CCAIFEF) recently announced its 2021 scholarship recipients. Since 1992, CCAI has awarded scholarship money from the CCAI Matt Heuertz Scholarship Fund to students enrolled in programs that could lead to a career in coatings and finishing. The scholarships are being awarded through the CCAIFEF, a 501 (c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization. The CCAIFEF Board of Directors, which determined this year’s scholarship winners, reviewed applications from qualified students.

CCAIFEF awarded a total of $17,500 in scholarships to 10 students. “This year, we received applications from 28 individuals representing 14 different academic institutions,” noted Sheila LaMothe, CCAIFEF’s Executive Director. “We are excited to follow the career paths of these students as they are the future of the finishing and coatings industry.”

In addition to cash awards sent to the student’s school account, each scholarship recipient receives a one-year student membership in CCAI, which allows them to gain exposure to the industry and benefit from the resources available through the association and its chapters.

Recipients of a 2021 Matt Heuertz Scholarship include:

  • Genna Andreae, University of Wisconsin - Platteville;
  • Scott Andreae, University of Wisconsin – Stout;
  • Caiden Atienza, University of Iowa;
  • Joseph Ekes, Iowa State University;
  • Katie Engle, University of Cincinnati;
  • Emma Filipkowski, University of Cincinnati;
  • Dray Gibson, University of Cincinnati;
  • Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology;
  • Gladwin Bryan Labrague, Missouri University of Science & Technology; and
  • William Joseph Martin, University of Cincinnati.

In addition to the National awards, the Twin Cities, West Michigan and Wisconsin CCAI chapters awarded nearly $20,000 through their own scholarships for students in their regions. The Twin Cities chapter recipients include: Kay Borgerding, North Dakota State University; Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology; Olivia McCabe, College of Saint Benedict; Connor Quinlan, University of St. Thomas; and Carissa Stalzer, Iowa State University. The three West Michigan chapter scholarship winners are Anna Bielecki, Michigan State University; Carsen Bovink, Grand Valley State University, and Chloe Westrate, Saint Mary’s College-Notre Dame. The Wisconsin chapter awarded Tyler Kleinsasser, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, the James Wright Scholarship. Genna Andrea, University of Wisconsin-Platteville, received the David Wright Scholarship, and Aaron Kinney, University of Wisconsin - Platteville received the James Steffes Scholarship. Additional Wisconsin chapter scholarship funds were awarded to: Sophia Brooks, Howard University; Adam Degler, University of Wisconsin – Madison; Jacob Diker, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee; Alexandria Garczynski, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee; Casey Roeser, University of Wisconsin – Madison; Mary Schilling, University of Wisconsin – Madison; and Nolan Wagner, St. Norbert College.         

CCAIFEF accepts scholarship applications each year beginning in January. Applications can be submitted online at