CLEVELAND - The Sherwin-Williams Co. announced that Christopher M. Connor will retire from his position as Executive Chairman effective as of the close of business on December 31, 2016, following a 34-year career with Sherwin-Williams. Connor will remain a member of the Sherwin-Williams Board of Directors until his retirement from the board at the end of his current term at the 2017 Annual Meeting of Shareholders in April 2017. In addition, the board has elected John G. Morikis to assume the additional role of Chairman effective January 1, 2017. Morikis has served as Sherwin-Williams’ President and Chief Executive Officer since January 1, 2016.

Morikis joined Sherwin-Williams in December 1984 as a management trainee in the company’s Paint Stores Group and has held many key leadership positions, including nine years as President and Chief Operating Officer, during his 32 years with the company.