COVENTRY, UK — The British Coatings Federation (BCF) has revealed the finalists for its annual awards ceremony. Now in their ninth year, the BCF Awards celebrate success in the coatings, wallcoverings and printing inks industry and showcase the achievements of BCF member companies and individuals.

BCF Chief Executive Tom Bowtell commented, “I would like to thank this year’s entrants and send congratulations to everyone shortlisted. Each year, the BCF Awards get bigger and the judging more competitive, and I look forward to announcing the winners in November.”

Finalists for the Sustainable Innovation Award (sponsored by Tradebe) include AkzoNobel Decorative Paints, Inktech, PPG, Sun Chemical (compostable inks), and Sun Chemical (renewable inks).

Finalists for the Customer Service Award (sponsored by HermexFX) include Valspar, PPG, Dulux Decorator Centre (AkzoNobel), HMG Paints, Fujichem Sonneborn, and Trimite Global Coatings.  

The Excellence in Training Award finalists include PPG, U-POL, Crown Paints and Dulux Academy. This award is sponsored by Cogent Skills.

The Young Leader of the Year Award finalists include Crown Paints – Kathryn Tormay, U-POL – Kerry McLoughlin, AkzoNobel – Alex Sashenkov, AkzoNobel – Kirsty Woodbine, Inktech – Richard Duckworth, and Fujichem Sonneborn – Altay Erdogan.  Fenton Packaging sponsors this award.  

Finalists for the Corporate Social Responsibility Award, which is sponsored by Merck, include PPG, AkzoNobel, Seagulls Paints, Sudarshan Chemical Industries, and Cornelius Group.  

Finalists for the Student of the Year Award, sponsored by Synthomer, include Sarah Baggaley (Thomas Swann), Kieran Parker (Whitford) and Gordon Hope (AkzoNobel).  

The Coatings Care Overall Best Performer Award finalists include Teal & Mackrill, Hull; Pulse Printing Products, Wick; Farrow & Ball, Wimborne; Crown Paints, Darwen; Crown Paints, Hull; and HMG Paints, Manchester.  

Finalists for the Coatings Care Progress Award include Tor Coatings, Chester-le-Street; Firwood Paint, Bolton; Flint Group, Ruabon; PPG Architectural, Birstall; Steyport, Blackburn; and Fujichem Sonneborn, Chesterfield.

The winners of the BCF Awards will be announced on Thursday, Nov. 15, at the Mottram Hall in Cheshire. More information on the finalists and details on the event can be found at