WASHINGTON - The American Chemical Society's Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) invites nominations for the 2006 Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings. The award for $2,000 will be presented on September 11, 2006, at the National Meeting of the American Chemical Society in Washington.

The award, which recognizes outstanding individual achievement and noteworthy contributions to coatings science, technology and engineering, confirms PMSE's longstanding and continued support and dedication to excellence in the coatings field.

Nominations are welcome from all sections of the industry, academia and government, and should be forwarded to David R. Bauer, Tess Award chairman, Ford Motor Company, Research Laboratory MD 3182, PO Box 2053, Dearborn, MI 48121. Upon receipt of each name, the chairman will provide a documentation form requesting information on the nominee related to patents, publications and other qualifications. All finalized nominations need to be submitted before September 1, 2005, although nominations received after that date will be considered for the succeeding year's award.