PITTSBURGH - PPG Industries Inc. announced the induction of three individuals into the PPG Collegium, the company's highest honor for advances in research and development. The inductees are:

  • The late Robert Jerabek, who died recently at age 82. Mr. Jerabek joined PPG in 1964 as senior research chemist at the company's Springdale, PA, coatings and resins research and development center, and developed the use of blocked isocyanate crosslinkers in cathodic electrodeposition coatings. Mr. Jerabek was a member of the development team for cathodic electrodeposition coatings that was honored in 1983 with the PPG President's Award for Technical Achievement;

  • James B. O'Dwyer, director of Discovery Research at the company's Allison Park, PA, research and development center. He joined the company in 1973 and has made significant contributions in polymer synthesis, automotive spray products and coatings formulations. He has been a member of two teams honored with PPG President's Awards, and holds 36 U.S. patents.

  • John F. Sopko, a staff engineer at PPG's glass technical center in Harmarville, PA, and an industry authority on chemical vapor deposition. He joined PPG in 1968 and was a member of the development team for Solarcool coated glass and CVD Sungate low-emissivity glass.