DES PLAINES, IL – The American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) Foundation recently announced the 20 recipients of the Professional Development Grant Program given to occupational safety and health practitioners. The grants are supported by contributions from corporations, members and individuals who recognize the value occupational safety and health professionals bring to the workplace.
The ASSE Foundation is awarding $13,500 in professional development grants this year. The grant program provides assistance to safety professionals as they advance their occupational safety, health and environmental careers through certification study courses, professional development seminars or symposiums, educational conferences, and college coursework.
The ASSE Foundation established a new grant program this year, the Terrance M. Hennessy Professional Development Grant. The first-ever recipients of the Terrance M. Hennessy Grant are: Shaman Ahuja of Auburn, AL; Michael Coleman of Springdale, AR; and Elizabeth C. Gabbett of Atlanta, GA.
The recipients of the Thomas & Dorothy Reilly Professional Development Grant are Brenda McCracken of Joliet, IL, and Edward S. Sowers Jr. of Apopka, FL. The grant was established in honor and memory of ASSE Past-President Thomas Reilly and his wife Dorothy.
The Medina Professional Development Grant, established by ASSE member Rixio Medina and his wife Alejandra, has four recipients this year: Byron Curtis of White, SD; Cynthia King of Henderson, CO; Peti Janine Singletary of Spring, TX; and Nick Nichols of Durant, OK.
The Texas Safety Foundation Professional Development Grant is being awarded to health and safety specialist at Rutgers University Shaundree Davis, Bordentown, NJ; Jason Kawa of Philadelphia, PA, Safety Director at P. Agnes Inc.; Vindi Minne of Elizabeth, CO, Safety Coordinator at Highlands Ranch Metro District; and Crystal D. Turner of White Plaines, NY, Construction Management EHS at Bidwell Environmental LLC.
The seven recipients of the Delmar E. Tally Professional Development Grant include: Vincent Bernd Tamarac, FL; Brian Cook of Lakeland, FL; Jason Dean of St. Louis, MO; Kristopher D. Johnson of Woodbury, MN; Danny C. K. Lee of Holliston, MA; Brian Maynard of Surfside Beach, SC; and Simone A. Vu of Los Angeles, CA.