PARSIPPANY, NJ - The Hydraulic Institute (HI) has updated the 2000 edition of the ANSI/HI standard on sealless centrifugal pumps and published ANSIHI 5.1-5.6-2010 Sealless Rotodynamic Pumps for Nomenclature, Definitions, Application, Operation and Test. The revised standard covers sealless rotodynamic pumps driven by canned motors or through magnetic couplings with conventional motors.

ANSI/HI 5.1–5.6-2010 is designed to provide users with information necessary to define and describe the construction features and benefits of using sealless pumps and contains a number of significant updates and enhancements. They include: pump part names and definitions, magnetic temperature limits and motor insulation temperature limits, magnetic-drive pumps mounting specifications, and new monitoring device information. In addition, the new standard provides users with expanded information in the test sections that cover types of tests, parameters, procedures and acceptance criteria.

Under the leadership of Roger Turley, Flowserve Pump (Flow Solutions Group), and Peter Gaydon, Chempump, a Division of Teikoku USA, the committee incorporated current sealless pump technology in this standard. Leading sealless pump manufacturers who contributed to this standard include Chempump, Flow Solutions Group, ITT – Industrial Process and Iwaki America Inc.

The Hydraulic Institute has also updated its standard ANSI/HI 4.1-4.6–2010 Sealless, Magnetically Driven Rotary Pumps. This standard covers the unique features of these pumps and includes sections on types and nomenclature; definitions; design and applications; installation, operation, and maintenance; and testing of these pumps. Magnetically driven pumps use permanent magnets to transmit torque through a containment shell that separates two sets of magnets. These pumps have a driven shaft that includes the pumping elements and is completely contained within the pressurized boundary surrounding the process liquid.

John Owen, IMO Pump - Colfax Corp., and Alan Wild, Moyno Inc., led the committee that developed the standard, which included representatives from Flowserve Pump Division, Leistritz Corp., Intelliquip LLC, IMO Pump, Milton Roy Americas, Moyno Inc., Roper Pump Co., Siemens Water Technologies and Weir Floway, Inc.