SOLON, OH – Dean C. Webster of North Dakota State University, Department of Coatings and Polymeric Materials, will receive the Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings for 2011. The officers and the Award Committee of the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering (PMSE) of the American Chemical Society made the announcement.

Webster researches the synthesis and characterization of novel polymers. He has authored over 75 peer-reviewed papers and publications, and is credited with 11 patents (an additional 18 pending) on coatings-related topics.