The Chemical Coaters Association International (CCAI) announced this year’s scholarship recipients. For the past several years, CCAI has awarded scholarship money from the CCAI Matt Heuertz Scholarship Fund to students in programs (technical schools, high schools and colleges) geared toward coatings and finishing. CCAI received many qualified applicants, and members are excited to watch the growth of this program as it continues to attract bright new talent to the industrial finishing and coatings industry. In addition, CCAI chapters have instituted their own scholarship programs for students in their region to support the growing need for young people in the finishing industry.

More than $30,000 in scholarships has been awarded in 2016 between the National and Chapter awards, and this number is expected to increase each year. Furthermore, each recipient has received a one-year student membership in CCAI, which will allow them to gain significant exposure to the industry and benefit from the multitude of resources available through the association. “CCAI’s scholarship programs have been rapidly expanding over the past several years,” notes CCAI Executive Director, Anne Goyer. “Our association is committed to supporting students, who are the future of our industry. The CCAI National Board recently committed to funding CCAI’s National Scholarship through proceeds from FABTECH each year. It’s a great way to give back to the industry and build our future.” 

The following students received a Matt Heuertz Scholarship of $2,000:  Marissa White, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay; Ryley Roeser, University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire; and Mitchell Pagel, University of Minnesota. The Matt Heuertz Scholarship program is sustained by the National CCAI and donations from CCAI Chapters.

The winners of the Twin Cities Chapter scholarships include Brody Maki, Jenny Henningsen, Mitchell Pagel and Hannah Striggow. Each of the scholarship recipients attended the chapter Golf Classic event to receive their award from Twin Cities Chapter President Michelle Striggow.

The CCAI West Michigan chapter honored their scholarship winners at a recent chapter golf outing as well. The recipients include; Claire Elizabeth Farrington ($1,000), Joseph Farrington ($750), Briana Sanchez ($750), Madeline Andrusiak ($500), and Jacob Pelak ($500).

The Wisconsin chapter awarded $14,000 in scholarship funds this year. The recipients attended the chapter golf outing and were presented with over-sized checks to commemorate the event. The following students received scholarships; Francis Roushar, The James Wright Memorial Scholarship ($2,500); Marissa White, The Dave Wright Memorial Scholarship ($2,000); and Brent Groubert, The Jim Steffes Memorial Scholarship ($1,500). In addition, general scholarships of $1,200 each were awarded to Austin Weaton, Emily Garczynski, Evan Degler and Amanda Cieslinski. Megan Bock and Ryley Roeser received $1,100 each, and Eric Simon and Joshua Thompson took home $500 each.

CCAI will be accepting applications for the 2017 scholarship program beginning in January 2017. Applications can be submitted online at