The Chemical Coaters Association International (CCAI) held its annual awards ceremony during the 2022 CCAI Annual Meeting in Avon, Colorado. At the ceremony CCAI recognized the CCAI Chapter Users and Suppliers of the Year and announced the 2022 James F. & David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award recipient. 

The James F. & David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award continues to be CCAI’s highest honor and is awarded to members of the association that have dedicated years of service to CCAI and the industrial finishing industry. This year, the recipient of the honor was Bill Oney who retired from Therma-Tron-X Inc. in October 2021. Oney has been a CCAI member for the past 23 years. He is an active member of the Wisconsin Chapter and has served as its president. Oney was a contributor to CCAI’s Powder Coating and System Design training manuals and shared his expertise at many technical and educational events throughout the years. He has served on the CCAI National Board for 13 years, including every role on the CCAI Executive Committee. His leadership has helped CCAI grow and offer many of the initiatives currently in place.

According to Oney, "Of all the organizations I have belonged to over the years, CCAI is the most rewarding in that our mission is to give back to our industry by providing educational opportunities and great networking. I am humbled and very grateful to be recognized alongside a long list of great people who have received this prestigious award. I knew Dave Wright personally and worked with him for many years and to be given this award is an absolute honor. I am extremely thankful for our family of members within CCAI, for everything that CCAI stands for, and all that it has achieved!”

CCAI also honored its Chapter User and Supplier of the Year recipients at the awards ceremony. Each year chapters identify a user and supplier member for their service and dedication to their respective chapter. CCAI seeks to acknowledge those who have shown exceptional commitment to their chapter’s success.

The 2022 Chapter Award winners are: Twin Cities Chapter – Bob Bonsall of Nordic Ware Inc. and Joel Lynch of Diamond Vogel Inc.; West Michigan Chapter – Terre Bennett of DeWys Manufacturing and Tom Farrington of The Sherwin-Williams Co.; and Wisconsin Chapter – Matt Diker of Mercury Marine.

For more information, visit