The International Coatings Expo will take place at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia, November 12-14, 2003. The event combines the International Coatings Expo (ICE), the International Coatings Technology Conference and the FSCT 81st Annual Meeting Program. Attendees will gain greater knowledge and expertise in critical areas relating to coatings, inks and adhesives through focused educational programs geared to the theme, “The Spirit of Innovation.” In addition, the International Coatings Expo will feature raw materials, equipment and services for coatings, adhesives, sealants and caulks, printing inks, and construction chemical intermediates.

Mattiello Lecture

Charles R. Hegedus, Materials Science Research associate at Air Products and Chemicals Inc., will deliver the prestigious Joseph J. Mattiello Memorial Lecture on Thursday at the opening session of the FSCT’s annual meeting.

Since joining Air Products and Chemicals in 1993, Hegedus has held various research and development positions in the company’s Performance Chemicals Division. He is responsible for R&D involving polymers and other raw materials for coatings applications, particularly waterborne polyurethanes, epoxy curing agents and resins, and most recently polyvinyl acetate-ethylene copolymers.

Before joining Air Products and Chemicals, Hegedus held key R&D positions in the Aerospace Materials Division of the Naval Air Development Center, and led the center’s Protective Coatings Group for seven years. His major contributions to coatings technology included the development of UNICOAT, a self-priming topcoat for high-performance applications that did not contain chromated inhibitors. In 1988, Hegedus received the Naval Air Development Center’s Outstanding Science and Engineering Award.

Hegedus is the author of more than 65 papers and publications, holds 20 patents on coatings-related topics and has lectured widely in the coatings field.

Heckel Award

Gerry J. Gough, Quality Manager for ICI Packaging Coatings Ltd., Birmingham, England, is the 2003 recipient of FSCT’s highest honor — the George Baugh Heckel Award. The award will be presented at the opening session of the FSCT’s annual meeting on November 13.

Considered the most prestigious of FSCT awards, the George Baugh Heckel Award recognizes an individual whose contributions to the organization have been outstanding. According to Heckel Award Committee Chair, Rose Ryntz of Visteon Corp., Dearborn, MI, “Mr. Gough has been a pillar of strength and endurance through the six years that I have known him. He has led the Federation as President in a time of tremendous change, yet his professionalism and collegiate spirit have made working with him a pure delight. I am proud to know such a generous, dedicated and intelligent individual. Without his leadership, the industry would not be the same.” Gough is the first resident of the United Kingdom to receive the Heckel Award.

Established in 1951, the award is dedicated to the memory of George Baugh Heckel, who served as temporary Chairman when the Federation was organized in 1922, and as Secretary for many years thereafter.

Officer and Board Nominations

The FSCT Nominating Committee has presented the following slate of nominees to Federation Officer, Executive Committee and Board of Directors positions for the year 2003-2004.

  • President-Elect: Dr. Frederick H. Walker (Philadelphia Society), Air Products & Chemicals, Inc., Allentown, PA. (One-Year Term)

  • Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Rose A. Ryntz (Detroit Society), Visteon Corp., Dearborn, MI. (One-Year Term)

  • Executive Committee (Society Director): John F. Bartlett (Pacific Northwest Society), Systems Three Resins, Inc., Auburn, WA. (Three-Year Term); and Dr. Yasmin Sayed-Sweet (Detroit Society), Cook Composites & Polymers, Clarkston, MI. (Three-Year Term)

  • Executive Committee (Director-at-Large): Kevin Pelling (Toronto Society), L.V. Lomas Ltd., Mississagua, Ont., Canada. (Three-Year Term)

  • Board of Directors (Director-at-Large): Deryk R. Pawsey (Pacific Northwest Society), Ky-Red Technologies, Ocean Park, S. Surrey, BC, Canada (Three-Year Term)

  • Board of Directors (Past-President): Forest G. Fleming (Piedmont Society), Akzo Nobel, High Point, NC. (Two-Year Term)
Elections will be held at the November 12, 2003, meeting of the Board of Directors in Philadelphia. Richard M. Hille (Cleveland Society), The Flood Company, Aurora, OH, current President-Elect, will assume the Presidency on November 14, 2003, in Philadelphia.

Photo by Jim McWilliams

Copyright Philadelphia Convention & Visitors Bureau