FAIRLAWN, OH – OMNOVA Solutions has announced its 2007 Technology Awards recipients. This annual award program recognizes exemplary technology-based contributions by associates in OMNOVA’s research and development, sales and marketing, technical service, operations, and product management organizations.
OMNOVA’s Decorative Products unit was able to secure business with a leading innovator of office furniture by meeting stringent color-matching criteria within its commercial wallcovering product line. As a result, the customer named OMNOVA its Supplier of the Year. Recipients of the award for this project include Ronnie Bell (Columbus, MS), Steve Bergeron (Field Sales) and Percy Shelton (Columbus, MS).
Associates at OMNOVA’s Jeannette, PA, Decorative Products facility developed an in-ground pool liner, leveraging the company’s vinyl-films technology for entry into a related market. Sunil Deoras, Tim Polaski and Steve Pcolka were recognized for this project.
Associates from OMNOVA’s Performance Chemicals sales and technology teams worked with a customer to develop a customized family of binders and coatings for use in commercial graphic signage. Ted Del Donno, Eric Rall and Cathy Smith were recognized for this project.
A cross-functional team of associates from OMNOVA’s Mogadore, OH, Pilot Plant and Akron, OH, Technology Center built upon the company’s core competencies in polymer manufacturing and customization by leading the design and installation of new research and development polymerization vessels. Recognized for the effort were Carla McBain of Akron, and Jacki Laurich, Jeff Pazzelli, Joy Untch, Brian Doucet and Mitch Shipman, all from Mogadore.
A global, cross-functional team of OMNOVA specialty chemicals associates has been collaborating with customers throughout Asia to transition the company’s existing technology base to meet the unique needs of that market. After research and collaboration with customers, the team successfully developed custom chemistries to overcome the challenges presented by local paper formulations and manufacturing processes, lengthy shipping distances, and other variables. Haiping Fu, Rob Holmes, Doug Harper, Norm Porter, and Bobbie Varnadore were recognized for this project.