BETHESDA, MD – Taking immediate congressional action on Toxic Substance Control Act (TSCA) reform was the critical message the Adhesive and Sealant Council (ASC) and its members brought to Capitol Hill during the National Association of Manufacturers’ (NAM) 2014 Manufacturing Summit held on June 11-12 in Washington D.C. ASC, along with dozens of associations and their members, discussed a wide range of issues and concerns impacting U.S. manufacturing with members of the Senate, the House of Representatives and key congressional staff.

In addition, attendees had the opportunity to hear about some of the Obama Administration’s and congressional initiatives to improve U.S. manufacturing prospects during presentations by Vice President Joseph Biden, Senator Chris Coons (D-DE) and the Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY).

“Getting something done on TSCA reform in the 114th Congress is at a critical juncture,” said Mark Collatz, ASC’s Director of Regulatory Affairs. “By bringing those involved in day-to-day operations to tell their stories, we hope our elected officials will better understand just how important it is to get a TSCA reform bill passed now.”

Legislators and staffers that ASC and its members met with included: Senators Rob Portman (R-OH), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Mark Warner (D-VA), Christopher Murphy (D-CT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Tom Carper (D-DE), Robert Casey (D-PA) and, House of Representative member John Barrow (D-GA).

ASC representatives included: the Council’s Chairman and President/CEO of Evans Adhesives, Rusty Thompson; Forest Driggs, Vice President of Finance and Development of Franklin International; Neema Toolaabee, Manager of Regulatory and Environmental Affairs for DAP; Stacey Ann Taylor, Director of Product Stewardship for Henry Co.; ASC’s President Matt Croson; and Mark Collatz.

Collatz noted that this was ASC’s initial participation in the NAM Manufacturing Summit and was a pilot project including in the council’s three-year long-range plan to add value to ASC membership.