INDIAN WELLS, CA - The Chemical Coaters Association International (CCAI) honored members for service and dedication and installed its 2014-2015 Officers and National Board members during its 2014 Annual Meeting held in Indian Wells, CA. A highlight of the Annual Meeting was the Annual Awards Luncheon during which CCAI presented Chapter User and Supplier of the Year awards, a 25-Year Member award and the highest accolade, the James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award.

CCAI’s biggest honor went to Sherrill Stoenner of Stoenner Finishing Consultants and a member of the CCAI Central States Chapter. Stoenner was honored with the James F. and David J. Wright Lifetime Achievement Award for his years of dedication to CCAI. Sherrill was instrumental in the startup of the Central States Chapter where he served as President, works to secure chapter programming, helps coordinate the chapter golf outing and more. On the national level, Stoenner served in all officer roles including two years as the CCAI National President. Stoenner joined CCAI 18 years ago in 1996 and is considered to be one of the leaders who helped CCAI become the industry’s leading educational association.

Another notable tribute went to Bruce Bryan of Mighty Hook. He was presented with a 25-year member award for his long-time service to CCAI and the Northern Illinois Chapter.

Keeping with tradition, CCAI honored its Chapter User and Supplier of the Year recipients at the Annual Awards luncheon. Seven Chapter Recognition Award recipients were present to accept their awards. Each year, chapters recognize a user and supplier member for their yearlong service and dedication to their respective chapter.

The 2013-2014 Chapter Award winners are:  Central States Chapter – Frank Laster, A-1 Paint Powder and Sandblast, and Michelle Danler, Spray Equipment & Service Center; Iowa/Central Illinois Chapter – Chris Dunsmore, Akzo Nobel Coatings Inc.; Las Vegas Chapter – Tony Sclafani, AR Iron LLC, and Sercy Spears, Coral Chemical Co.; Northern Illinois Chapter – Jana Obermiller, John Deere, and Ed Hrynyk, Chemtool Inc.; Southern California Chapter - Shivie Dhillon, Sundial Powder Coating, and Sercy Spears, Coral Chemical Co.; Twin Cities Chapter – Mark Walsworth, Donaldson Co., and Tony Wolfbauer, Chemetall; West Michigan Chapter -  American Autocoat, and Bruce Connell, Environmental Partners Inc.; and Wisconsin Chapter – Tim Lehn, Metalcraft of Mayville Inc., and Matt Kirchner, American Finishing Resources.

CCAI also announced its National Board of Directors Officers and Board Members for 2014-2015. Leadership for 2014-2015 includes:

President, Kevin Coursin, KMI Systems – Northern Illinois Chapter; Vice President, Ron Lum, Coral Chemical Co. – Southern California Chapter; Treasurer, Bill Oney, American Finishing Resources – Wisconsin Chapter; and Recent Past President, Sam Woehler, George Koch Sons LLC – Unaffiliated. 

In addition to the officers, serving on the National Board of Directors for the 2014-2015 programming year will be:  Jim Andrews, Pneu-Mech Systems Mfg. LLC – Atlantic Coast Chapter; Trena Benson, Axalta Powder Coatings – Texas Chapter; Tom Boland, Calvary Industries – Iowa/Central Illinois Chapter; Bruce Bryan, Mighty Hook – Northern Illinois Chapter; Jim Docken, Independent Contractor – Twin Cities Chapter; Duane Fudge, Chemetall – Mid-Atlantic Chapter; Jim Gallagher, Harley Davidson – Wisconsin Chapter; Loren Keene, Wagner Systems, Inc. – Central States Chapter; Todd Luciano, Products Finishing – Greater Cincinnati Chapter; Jim Malloy, Kolene Corp. – Unaffiliated; Tim Milner, JIT Powder Coating – Twin Cities Chapter; David Scharphorn, ChemQuest Inc. – West Michigan Chapter; and John Sudges, Midwest Finishing Systems – Northern Illinois Chapter. Serving as Ex-Officio Board members are: Larry Melgary, Northern Coatings & Chemicals – Wisconsin Chapter;  and Bob Warren, retired – West Michigan Chapter.