BLUE BELL, PA - The Federation of Societies for Coatings Technology announced the nomination of Rose A. Ryntz, Visteon Corp., for election as president-elect of the organization for 2004-2005. Yasmin Sayed-Sweet, Cook Composites and Polymers, was nominated for election as secretary-treasurer.

The current president-elect, Fritz Walker of Air Products and Chemicals Inc., will assume the FSCT presidency on Oct. 29, at the close of the organization's 2004 Annual Meeting in Chicago. Election of 2004-2005 officers is scheduled for Oct. 26.

The Federation also announced the nominations of Charles "Chuck" Shearer, Stahl USA, and Melinda Forbes, Kronos Inc., for election to the FSCT Executive Committee. Nominated for election to the FSCT Board of Directors were Charles E. Carncross, Buckman Laboratories Inc.; Gail Pollano, NeoResins Inc. and a past FSCT president; and Dick Mullen, a past FSCT president and retired after 40 years in the coatings industry.

Ryntz, recognized as an expert on coatings for automotive plastics, has held a series of key committee posts with the Federation, including the chairmanship of the Professional Development, Annual Meeting Program and Industry Relations Task Force committees. She has received several major awards, including the FSCT's highest honor, the George Baugh Heckel Award, in 2000, and the 2003 Roy W. Tess Award in Coatings from the American Chemical Society's Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering. She is currently senior manager/senior technical fellow for Visteon Corp.'s Global Advanced Material Engineering Department.

Sweet, Strategic Business manager at Cook Composites and Polymers, has been a member of the FSCT Board of Directors and the Federation's Technical Advisory and Society Support committees.

Walker, who will begin his term as president on Oct. 29, is regarded as an authority on various aspects of coatings technology, and is the author of the FSCT monograph "Introduction to Polymers and Resins." He holds numerous coatings-technology patents and is a past chairman of the FSCT's Professional Development Committee. He is a current member of the Federation's Publications Committee.